Mary Pat Moyer, PhD

Founder, President, CEO and Chief Science Officer, INCELL Corporation, LLC
Founder, CEO and Technical Advisor, TEKSA Innovations Corp.
Adjunct Professor, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
(San Antonio, Texas)

Dr. Mary Pat Moyer is a biomedical scientist, entrepreneur and technology business leader. She founded the innovative life sciences company, INCELL Corporation, LLC (1993;, after over 20 years as an academic scientist, as Director of the Center for Human Cell Biotechnology, Division Head of Surgical Research, and Professor of Surgery, Microbiology, Cellular and Structural Biology, Pediatrics, and Molecular Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She received her Ph.D. in microbiology, from the University of Texas at Austin, and BS and MS degrees in biology from Florida Atlantic University. She is an advocate for accelerating development of products from the laboratory bench to the clinic. As CEO and Chief Science Officer, she has orchestrated INCELL’s growth in research and manufacturing of clinical products, pre-clinical testing services and R&D for new products, with 8 small business research grants awarded through NIH, and from the company’s self-generated corporate capital from sales of products and services in two major core technology areas of expertise: (1) Clinical Cell and Tissue Biotechnology: Cancer, Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cells, and (2) Microbiology: Non-needle Vaccines and Infectious Disease.

An authority in microbiology, cancer, biodefense, and stem cells, Dr. Moyer has published over 200 scientific papers and abstracts, co-authored a textbook “Colon Cancer Cells?, and has served or serves as a Consultant to many journals (currently an editor of the BioProcessing Journal and the SA Healthcare & Bioscience magazine) national and international government agencies (e.g, WHO, NIH, NASA, DoD), universities and industry. She has served many scientific, education, and business organizations. She is an elected member of the prestigious American Academy for Microbiology. A founding member of the International Cord Blood Society, she has been or is a member of many scientific and research societies, including the American Assn for Cancer Research, the Society for In Vitro Biology, the International Society for Stem Cell Therapy, American Society for Neural Transplantation, the American Society for Microbiology, American Society for Virology, International Society for Stem Cell Therapy, and many more. A passionate independent she has provided leadership to regional, state and national public and private initiatives, and has received many awards, including: 1999 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award in “Life Sciences-Emerging Companies?, 1999 inductee into the national Entrepreneurs Hall of Fame; the 1999 Entrepreneurial Spirit Award from National Association of Women Business Owners, the SA Women’s Chamber of Commerce 1999 Entrepreneurial Woman of the Year Award, the ITEC 2000 Information Technology Achievement Award, and the Women’s Leadership Award 2000 from the San Antonio Business Journal.

In 2001, she was selected as a Fellow of the internationally recognized IC2 Institute in Austin. In 2002 she received the AAUW “Breaking the Glass Ceiling Award?, and the Governor’s Recognition Award for Texas Women in Leadership. Regional recognition in 2003 included “Faces of the Medical Community?, “Innovative Small Business Leader?, and UTSA Management of Technology awards. She was 1 of only 6 national executives selected to present her translational business model and scientific work at the national NIH Small Business Innovative Research meetings in 2003 and 2004, and represented Texas at the 2003 national Research!America Stem Cells conference panel and debate, and at the 2005 Stem Cells Panel -Training Session of the Texas Legislature. An invited speaker at the international NY Stem Cell Summit 2008-2012, she was also selected to speak on manufacturing fat-derived stem cells at IFATS in 2011. In 2004 she received the international Athena Award for Women in Leadership, the West SA Chamber Doctoral Achievement Award, and was a Texas Workforce Investment Council (2004-08) Governor appointee.